RyanVM.net Discussion Board Forum Index RyanVM.net Discussion Board

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

"Plug and Play Monitor" pop up @ 34th minute of XP

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    RyanVM.net Discussion Board Forum Index -> Update Pack Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Fragbert



Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 338

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 3:15 pm    Post subject: "Plug and Play Monitor" pop up @ 34th minute of XP Reply with quote

Hello I have been following threads about this odd issue where a seemingly perfect unattended XP install for whatever reason will prompt on certain machines (hence no longer be unattented) for a "Plug and Play Monitor" driver. I see this is an issue that affects Dell Optiplex machines with integrated Intel graphics (GX520 here). Both suggested fixes in this forum do not fix this annoying prompt (editing the WINNT.SIF to 800x600x60hz and installing MS hotfix 883667).

I use the latest RyanVM update pack and noticed that KB883667 was taken out, so I manually integrated the fix prior to installing the update pack.

Could the update pack revert the hotfix or affect it in any way?

I am at a loss, any help is appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DisabledTrucker



Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 822
Location: Country of Mental on the Planet Trucker in the MidnightHunter Galaxy.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 3:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If Ryan removed that it was for a reason, most likely because it had been already supersceded...
_________________
Matthew 22:36-40

I have some gmail invites left, if you'd like one IM me and let me know.

WNOR FM-99 The best station in the world!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
RyanVM
Site Admin


Joined: 23 Nov 2004
Posts: 5156
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Prior to releasing 2.0, I said that I was removing a bunch of hotfixes, though I was open to re-adding removed ones if someone pointed out an instance where one had fixed a problem for them. Since this is one of those situations, I'll re-add it for the next release Smile
_________________
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
StriderSkorpion



Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What I got from the post was that the hotfix didn't work, so reintegrating it in the pack may not be necessary. How did you integrate the hotfix onto the install? If you used a program such as HFSLIP or nLite, that may be where the problem is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RyanVM
Site Admin


Joined: 23 Nov 2004
Posts: 5156
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fragbert, care to clarify?
_________________
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Fragbert



Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 338

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, I can now confirm that the hotfix does indeed resolve the issue - when installed alone without the rvm update pack.

I deployed a new XP image with simply SP2 and the hotfix integrated, plus a BTS driverpack slimmed down with just the drivers I need for the Optiplex GX520. Not once did I get a prompt for installing a Plug and Play monitor.

Researching more on this issue it seems the problem lies with the Intel integrated graphic controller's support of multiple monitors. Perhaps some unattended gurus with more config file prowess can make some suggestions.

So KB883667 fixes the problem. What can I do for now? Is adding this hotfix myself to the update pack a possibility? Is there a proper way to integrate this hotfix plus the RVM update packs (and addons?) I tried integrating the hotfix first then run the update pack and neither the hotfix or the update pack appeared to integrate into the image (pnp monitor popped up and MS update was full of downloadable updates)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techtype



Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Posts: 268

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

StriderSkorpion wrote:
How did you integrate the hotfix onto the install? If you used a program such as HFSLIP or nLite, that may be where the problem is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fragbert



Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 338

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

techtype wrote:
StriderSkorpion wrote:
How did you integrate the hotfix onto the install? If you used a program such as HFSLIP or nLite, that may be where the problem is.


I did not use nLite. I simply used the conventional C:\<hotfix> /integrate:c:\<XP source>

Anyway, is there a way to add this hotfix AND use the RVM update pack?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techtype



Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Posts: 268

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fragbert wrote:
techtype wrote:
StriderSkorpion wrote:
How did you integrate the hotfix onto the install? If you used a program such as HFSLIP or nLite, that may be where the problem is.


I did not use nLite. I simply used the conventional C:\<hotfix> /integrate:c:\<XP source>

Anyway, is there a way to add this hotfix AND use the RVM update pack?


The way that you did it simply runs the hotfix from svcpack.inf which should work if you integrate the hotfix after integrating the ryanvm pack.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RyanVM
Site Admin


Joined: 23 Nov 2004
Posts: 5156
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Like I said earlier, I'll re-add it to the next release.
_________________
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cybpsych



Joined: 12 Jan 2005
Posts: 411

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 3:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FYI, i'm getting this error too, on OEM notebook using Intel 855GME chipset.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OCedHrt



Joined: 13 Apr 2005
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 6:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have this same issue too, on my laptop with Intel 855. However, I don't think it happens when I use a regular WinXP SP2 install, if I recall correctly. Is KB883667 already included in SP2?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buletov



Joined: 15 Feb 2005
Posts: 380

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stupid Intel Very Happy
_________________
Never know what life is gonna throw at you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cybpsych



Joined: 12 Jan 2005
Posts: 411

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, it seems Fragbert's statement about dual-display on laptop is true.

on laptop with integrated video, the driver will automatically enable the dual-display support. the pop-up msg is for the supposedly-2nd monitor. it's somehow hardwired on the mobo to support dual-display immediately.

on desktop with/wihout integrated video, the 2nd monitor is not enabled until a physical monitor is connected. then, XP may (haven't tried yet) look for PNP Monitor driver.

wonder why XP didn't just get the default driver without prompting the user. just my 2cents!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RyanVM
Site Admin


Joined: 23 Nov 2004
Posts: 5156
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I forgot to re-add this to 2.0.3. It'll for sure be in 2.0.4 next month Smile
_________________
Get up to $200 off on hosting from the same people who host this website!
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2357
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    RyanVM.net Discussion Board Forum Index -> Update Pack Discussion All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group