RyanVM.net Discussion Board Forum Index RyanVM.net Discussion Board

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

[Release] TweakUI Control Panel Extension

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    RyanVM.net Discussion Board Forum Index -> Update Pack Addons
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 4350
Location: Pocatello, ID

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 6:07 am    Post subject: [Release] TweakUI Control Panel Extension Reply with quote

Here is one with just the TweakUI CPL.



Size - 77 kb Hash = EC26573E2CAA394FC80F560F4C6FDEA8


Last edited by Kelsenellenelvian on Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:00 am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Jondar



Joined: 22 Jun 2005
Posts: 58
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Kel:

I had the opportunity to test a fresh install of XP, with this addon integrated. It installed fine, but there was a minor problem with the Control Panel applet component of this pack.

When opening Control Panel, there was a "Missing File" icon. When you double click on it, you get an "Error opening file for reading: C:\Windows\System32\Tweakui.cpi" error.

Running a search for the missing file revealed the problem, a misspelt filename, the *.CPI file was installed as "TWEAUKUI.CPI" (note the extra "U"). I renamed the file to what it should be, and the problem was solved.

After a little bit of investigating with TXTSETUP.SIF, I found a typo in the line that references TWEAKUI.CPI. There's an extra "U" in the entry (making it TWEAUKUI.CPI

Hope this information is helpful in fixing the (admittedly minor) bug.

BTW, can you reveal how you've been creating these additional Control Panel applets from existing programs? I'd love to see one for REGEDIT if at all possible. At the moment, I put a shortcut to the program in my "Administrative Tools" folder, it works but an icon in the proper Control Panel would be brilliant...! Smile

--Jondar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 4350
Location: Pocatello, ID

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LOL ok thanks I will fix it...
_________________

Please donate to Kelsenellenelvian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Vista



Joined: 23 Aug 2005
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kelsenellenelvian, have you fixed the problem. and the MD5 Hash is wroing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cybpsych



Joined: 12 Jan 2005
Posts: 415

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

control panel extension should be .CPL not .CPI ??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 4350
Location: Pocatello, ID

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Trust me it works and there is both a cpl and cpi file in there.
_________________

Please donate to Kelsenellenelvian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Vista



Joined: 23 Aug 2005
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the MD5 Hash is wroing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 4350
Location: Pocatello, ID

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Man I keep forgeting to update those when I make a change. THANKS!!
_________________

Please donate to Kelsenellenelvian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
unreal



Joined: 24 Oct 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so you install this aswell as the app or?

Im confused!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 4350
Location: Pocatello, ID

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the whole app it adds an entry in your control panel for tweakui.
_________________

Please donate to Kelsenellenelvian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded


Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 1344
Location: Aotearoa

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uh-oh, I am getting an error installing this on Win2000 using this version 1.1. Hash for the cab file checks out OK, any idea what this error message means:



Sad

This is lines 6797-6799 from my txtsetup.sif file, if that helps:
Code:

TweakUIx.cpi = 100,,,,,,,2,0,0,Tweakui.cpi
TweakUI.cpl = 100,,,,,,,2,0,0
TweakUI.EXE = 100,,,,,,,2,0,0


Oh I forgot to add, that I used this exact same addon in my last 2003 server build and it installed and runs AOK.
_________________
Addon List | Nuke Policy | Update Requests | Bug Reports | Credits
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded


Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 1344
Location: Aotearoa

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uhmmmm just wondering? It seems like you are trying to rename this file during install, so should that top line be:
Code:

Tweakui.cpi = 100,,,,,,,2,0,0,TweakUIx.cpi

_________________
Addon List | Nuke Policy | Update Requests | Bug Reports | Credits


Last edited by Mrs Peel on Sun Feb 12, 2006 6:00 pm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DisabledTrucker



Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 822
Location: Country of Mental on the Planet Trucker in the MidnightHunter Galaxy.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The .cpi file that's being used is not using an 8.3 naming convention is why you're getting that error...
_________________
Matthew 22:36-40

I have some gmail invites left, if you'd like one IM me and let me know.

WNOR FM-99 The best station in the world!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 4350
Location: Pocatello, ID

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Who the hell taught you how to count? TweakUIx.cpi <--- EIGHT LETTERS!!! and THREE Extension letters!

That make 8.3...
_________________

Please donate to Kelsenellenelvian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
DisabledTrucker



Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 822
Location: Country of Mental on the Planet Trucker in the MidnightHunter Galaxy.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry it was the upxshell I was thinking of...
_________________
Matthew 22:36-40

I have some gmail invites left, if you'd like one IM me and let me know.

WNOR FM-99 The best station in the world!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
Mrs Peel
The Dominatrix Recoded


Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 1344
Location: Aotearoa

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

U ... P ... X ... S ... H ... E ... L ... L


1 ... 2 ... 3 ... 4 ... 5 ... 6 ... 7 ... 8


Shocked
_________________
Addon List | Nuke Policy | Update Requests | Bug Reports | Credits
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MarcJ



Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've ran into a problem that I can't figure out with this update. I can't get the it to appear in my control panel. The exe is getting installed just fine but no link in CP. I looked in the registry and there are no references in HKCR to CLSID D14ED2E1-C75B-443c-BD7C-FC03B2F08C17. I used nLite to integrate and all of your other updates work fine like ClearType and DirectX CPL. Not sure what the deal is with this one. It's probably something on my end but I just can't track it down.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TiMiN8R



Joined: 20 Mar 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the same problem, tweakui doesn't show up in control panel. I am able to access it through the Run dialog though, so it's there and installed, just not in control panel. Am using Dutch XP Pro with dutch update pack 1.2, integrated with RVM Integrator 1.22. It's not a big deal, just not how it's supposed to be I guess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OtherworldBob



Joined: 27 Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Location: Pompey

PostPosted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the add-on, TweakUI functions just the way it should.

But like the others there isn't a link in the Control Panel, I'm using RVM Integrator 1.22 on a XP Home source.

Keep up the good work Kel. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vultron



Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And for my second post...

Ok I think I have tracked down the problem. It looks like the entries in the TweakUI.inf are incorrect. I have manually added the right entries to my registry and TweakUI appears in my Conrol Panel. However, I'm not sure or the syntax of the .inf file to correcly add the registry entries Question
Question

These are the correct entries. Cut and paste that into a file (ex. tweakui.reg) and run it and your're all set. Kelsenellenelvian I hope this helps you and you can update the .inf file. Thnx again for the great addons



--------------------------------------------


Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{D14ED2E1-C75B-443c-BD7C-FC03B2F08C17}]
@="TweakUI"
"InfoTip"="Starts the TweakUI program which customizes advanced options in Windows"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{D14ED2E1-C75B-443c-BD7C-FC03B2F08C17}\DefaultIcon]
@="%SystemRoot%\\\\System32\\\\tweakui.exe,0"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{D14ED2E1-C75B-443c-BD7C-FC03B2F08C17}\Shell]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{D14ED2E1-C75B-443c-BD7C-FC03B2F08C17}\Shell\Open]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{D14ED2E1-C75B-443c-BD7C-FC03B2F08C17}\Shell\Open\Command]
@="C:\\windows\\system32\\tweakui.exe"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{D14ED2E1-C75B-443c-BD7C-FC03B2F08C17}\ShellFolder]
"Attributes"=dword:00010001

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\ControlPanel\NameSpace\{D14ED2E1-C75B-443c-BD7C-FC03B2F08C17}]
@="Add TweakUI to Control Panel"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 4350
Location: Pocatello, ID

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updated with the fixed reg entries. Thanks vultron.
_________________

Please donate to Kelsenellenelvian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
vultron



Joined: 19 Mar 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

np. i will test the updated pack when i get a chance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rytukz



Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 107
Location: Lithuania

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For me don't work - no icon in control panel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Aserone



Joined: 11 Mar 2006
Posts: 306
Location: Opioid dependent head.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rytukz wrote:
For me don't work - no icon in control panel


Well the only potential problem I can see is this.

Code:
[Optional Components]
TweakUI

[TweakUI]
OptionDesc
bla bla
AddReg  = TweakUI

[TweakUI]
REG HERE


As anyone can see there could very well be a problem with two sections with exactely the same name, haven't tried thou.

Hope it helps. Thanks for release!


Edit: It doesn't installs using [DefaultIntsall] anyway. It's a section problem. Easy to fix, just rename one of 'em.
_________________
//Aserone-Foxy | EULA: Everything I say/post is a lie and/or forwarded from swim.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zzzz



Joined: 03 May 2005
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How do you fix it? What did you rename?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aserone



Joined: 11 Mar 2006
Posts: 306
Location: Opioid dependent head.

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zzzz wrote:
How do you fix it? What did you rename?


It might be what I posted before, or that the .inf file is copied with "_x" by txtsetup.sif but it's actually compressed.

Will fix both these and upload in a moment.

Edit: hehe, when I downloaded now I see kel already updated silently with the "fix". Wink

Will edit the ini in a bit and upload. Use if the current version kel released won't work for you either. If it does, use it!

Temp download: DELETED
MD5: EC26573E2CAA394FC80F560F4C6FDEA8
SIZE: 77 KB

All credits to Kel. Changed to copy inf to "%windir%\inf", installs reg entries using "sysoc.inf".

Should work nearly guaranteed, i'm a little sleepy. Wink
_________________
//Aserone-Foxy | EULA: Everything I say/post is a lie and/or forwarded from swim.


Last edited by Aserone on Wed May 10, 2006 2:01 am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 4350
Location: Pocatello, ID

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks asorone it is now uploaded.
_________________

Please donate to Kelsenellenelvian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
zzzz



Joined: 03 May 2005
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. It works now Smile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wesmosis



Joined: 21 Feb 2006
Posts: 350

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
spinik
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 5:51 am    Post subject: TweakUI.exe missing after installation... Reply with quote

Hi!

I made myself a new WinXP ISO using RyanVM integrator. I streamlined SP2, added RyanVM Pack 2.1.3, DirectX 9.0c, WMP 10 and... TweakUI CPL 2.1.10. I thought that it should add TweakUI to Windows but there was a problem: right after the installation, I found a Control Panel item "TweakUI" but when run it asked me to choose a program to run it with... I tried searching the Windows directory and "TweakUI.exe" was nowhere to be found. So I've installed TweakUI manually.

I just want to inform you of this problem. I am a big fan of this TweakUI addon but it seems that something went wrong here, but what...? Who knows...

J.
Back to top
krash56



Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having a problem as well. It makes the .exe file and the .inf file but I'm not getting any cpl or cpi file when I integrate this addon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kelsenellenelvian
Moderator


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 4350
Location: Pocatello, ID

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it is all done through registry entries m8. No .cpl or .cpi files in this one...
_________________

Please donate to Kelsenellenelvian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
krash56



Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kelsenellenelvian wrote:
it is all done through registry entries m8. No .cpl or .cpi files in this one...


But it doesn't show up in my control panel, what am I doing wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrmr



Joined: 14 Sep 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2009 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

download link is gone
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zilan



Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can use Kels CPL Mega Pack v9.6
Code:
http://www.ryanvm.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6871
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    RyanVM.net Discussion Board Forum Index -> Update Pack Addons All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group