RyanVM.net Discussion Board Forum Index RyanVM.net Discussion Board

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

[Release] CMD Tools for NT5 from Win7 v2012-01_3

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    RyanVM.net Discussion Board Forum Index -> Update Pack Addons
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
5eraph
Moderator


Joined: 05 Jul 2005
Posts: 3867
Location: Riverview, MI USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 5:12 pm    Post subject: [Release] CMD Tools for NT5 from Win7 v2012-01_3 Reply with quote

Microsoft Command Line Tools from Windows 7

Description:
    These addons directly integrate command line tools created by Microsoft.
Details:Credits:Downloads:Notes:
    Expand.exe and its MUI file were taken from a Windows 7 x64 SP1 source. A catalog file was found to go with the MUI, but it's not included because no errors are thrown in its absence and it is over a megabyte in size. And I have been unable to find a catalog file that works in XP to go with the EXE. SetupErr.log will show errors for the EXE if we replace the old version with the new without a suitable CAT file installed. To prevent these errors it is necessary to delay the replacement until first logon. However, System File Checker will still complain when run (SFC.exe /scannow), but it will not find the original file. The Expand5 file in the packages is the original file from the target operating system and is used only during Windows setup.

    Should there ever be an update to Expand.exe for Windows XP/2003, nLite will not replace the Windows 7 version due to the file's version number and it will not check Expand5. If an update is released for Windows 7, please let me know so I can update the files in these addons.

    Neither version of RoboCopy comes with a 64-bit executable so they are installed to %SystemRoot%. The 32 and 64-bit files from Windows 7 update KB2639043-v3 were tried, but they fail to run and give the error: "...not a valid Win32 application." The Vista/Win2008 versions also fail in this manner as reported by readers of Martin Zugec's blog.

    MsiX.exe is included as originally compiled in its 32-bit form. It is installed in %SystemRoot% since I see no pressing need to compile a 64-bit version.
Changelog:
  • [2012/02/05 21:15 UTC] - v2012-01_3 - Added a workaround for when the WMP11 Slipstreamer overwrites MSDelta.dll after this addon has been applied.

  • [2012/01/29 00:35 UTC] - v2012-01_2 - Added MsiX.exe.

  • [2012/01/28 22:15 UTC] - v2012-01_1 - Initial release.


Last edited by 5eraph on Sun Feb 05, 2012 5:36 pm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
5eraph
Moderator


Joined: 05 Jul 2005
Posts: 3867
Location: Riverview, MI USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ricktendo64



Joined: 21 May 2006
Posts: 3157
Location: Honduras

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

expand.exe is signed by ntexe.cat but I doubt if it will satisfy XP's sfc
Code:
expand.exe               7/13/2009      2:6.1               Firmado             ntexe.cat           Microsoft Windows

_________________

Please, donate any old PC hardware
Save time & space on your HDD/SSD with these installer repacks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
5eraph
Moderator


Joined: 05 Jul 2005
Posts: 3867
Location: Riverview, MI USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're right, Windows XP x86/x64 doesn't recognize it.

Code:
>signtool.exe verify /v /c ntexe.cat expand.exe

Verifying: expand.exe
File is signed in catalog: ntexe.cat
Hash of file (sha1): 6C6F4573A121F113A729E2E97B53D93F98A81547
[...]
SignTool Error: This catalog is not valid for the current OS version. You may use the /o option to verify against a different OS version.

Number of files successfully Verified: 0
Number of warnings: 0
Number of errors: 1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mr_smartepants



Joined: 18 May 2006
Posts: 824
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you! It's great to see some of these tools all in one place.
I didn't know about the errorlevel bug in that version of robocopy.
_________________

Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear Kevlar and dog-tags!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bphlpt



Joined: 19 Apr 2008
Posts: 1010

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Indeed, Thanks 5eraph. I was going to ask if it would make sense to have a similar collection for Win7 use, with the continued increased interest. Even though most of these tools seem to be from Win7, it's very handy to have them listed together, and I would assume there will be some extra tools or different versions that don't work on XP? If that's a ridiculous question from a noob, feel free to ignore it. LOL

Cheers and Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
5eraph
Moderator


Joined: 05 Jul 2005
Posts: 3867
Location: Riverview, MI USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm open to adding more tools. I've included those that I know are commonly used around here.
  • Expand and MsiX are used in Sereby's compiled Hotfix Extr4ct0r AutoIt script (German, English). In XP, the tools are temporarily extracted to "%UserProfile%\Local Settings\Temp" when his script is executed.
  • DevCon and RoboCopy were used in Bâshrat's original DriverPack scripts. DevCon is still useful for when an OS reinstall is necessary; to find necessary drivers for unfamiliar hardware. One of these scripts (Find_HWiDs.bat) used to be in his MSFN signature, the other (DriverPacks_BASE) in an old subforum at MSFN.
  • SignTool is used in Pasha_ZZZ's script for matching CATs with other files. It's also been useful to update pack makers for testing, and is used in my RollBack installers (x86, x64).
  • CertMgr is probably the least used, but I'd rather have it handy in case it's needed.
My main motivation for putting together these addons was to update Expand so I could script it myself, bphlpt. I don't use my Windows 7 laptop for much more than websurfing and opening Remote Desktop to access my XPx64 desktop, which has much better system specs and tons more storage.

The only tools I'd surely add are Diff/Patch (old, latest) and Reg2Inf. But none of them were created by Microsoft so they don't belong in these addons as currently labeled.

If anybody wants to create similar packages for use in Win7, please feel free. Use this collection as a baseline or pick and choose as you see fit.


Last edited by 5eraph on Mon Jan 30, 2012 3:36 am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bphlpt



Joined: 19 Apr 2008
Posts: 1010

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Understand. Then perhaps just links in the first post to:

5eraph wrote:
... Sereby's compiled Hotfix Extr4ct0r AutoIt script
...Bâshrat's original DriverPack scripts -- If still relevent
...Pasha_ZZZ's script
...Diff/Patch and Reg2Inf


Just a thought.

Cheers and Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
5eraph
Moderator


Joined: 05 Jul 2005
Posts: 3867
Location: Riverview, MI USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know where I'd squeeze them into the first post, but I did add links and more information to my last post. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
5eraph
Moderator


Joined: 05 Jul 2005
Posts: 3867
Location: Riverview, MI USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updated to 2012-01_3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomasz86



Joined: 09 Aug 2011
Posts: 481
Location: windows2000.tk

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2012 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, thank you very much for this addon Smile

Everything seems to work in Windows 2000 too, except CertMgr.exe which has to be "fixed" to overcome dependency issues.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
shiner



Joined: 08 Nov 2009
Posts: 638
Location: SE Asia

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 6:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anybody else having a problem with this addon integrated during XP setup?
I have had setup freeze at T-35 on many occasions.
I use RVMi to integrate the update pack and all addons. No error has been given by RVMI during any of the integrations.
Lastly, I use nLite for a few tweaks before creating the iso and test in VirtualBox.


If I integrate only this addon on XP SP3 with user_hidden's latest June update pack NO problem occurs during setup.

If I integrate this addon with a few other addons on XP SP3 with user_hidden's latest June update pack usually no problem occurs during setup .

But if I integrate several addons with this one, the problem occurs most of the time (>80%) on more than 20 test installs.

If I do not use this addon, then all other addons I have used integrate and install correctly every time. This is what has led me to believe this addon is at least partly responsible. (So, my current solution is not to integrate this addon.)

I had a similar issue a few months back with Geej's RWParams addon.
With Geej's addon, I eventually rewrote the INF and converted it into a switchless installer--PROBLEM SOLVED.

I would like to troubleshoot further, but no error logs have been produced by the issue and I haven't learned how to analyze and correct problems at T-35.
_________________
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
5eraph
Moderator


Joined: 05 Jul 2005
Posts: 3867
Location: Riverview, MI USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you list some of the addons you're using with this one? I'll see if I can reproduce it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shiner



Joined: 08 Nov 2009
Posts: 638
Location: SE Asia

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Integrating with the following addons, setup completed without freezing at T-35:

DirectXRuntimes-201006-Addon-32.cab
Ricks-YumeYao_IE8_Addon_Nosetuperr_ENU_1_4_13.7z
Ricks-YumeYao_MicrosoftVC78910RuntimeLibraries_Addon_2_1_3.7z

However, adding the following to the above caused setup to freeze at T-35 repeatedly:

5er_MSSignedThemes_Addon_v6.1.1_x86.7z
RedDXManaged_1.1.0.exe
YumeYao_WIC_Update_Addon_1_2_0.cab
YumeYao_MicrosoftOldRuntimeLibraries_Addon_1_0_0.7z
Kels_Runtimes_addon_v8.4.rar

(Some of the above, I have used for a long time without issues.)

All other addons I use are T-13 only which I removed from my test setup because setup wasn't getting past T-35. The above list will recreate the issue on my system whether integrated in one session or multiple sessions.
_________________
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
5eraph
Moderator


Joined: 05 Jul 2005
Posts: 3867
Location: Riverview, MI USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2012 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Added links above and grabbed all files except WIC addon (dead FileSonic link, not on MediaFire). I'll begin testing as soon as I can.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
5eraph
Moderator


Joined: 05 Jul 2005
Posts: 3867
Location: Riverview, MI USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't reproduce it in VirtualBox 4.1.16 with all addons above (WIC 1.1.0 instead of 1.2.0). Do you have a working download link for YumeYao_WIC_Update_Addon_1_2_0.cab?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomasz86



Joined: 09 Aug 2011
Posts: 481
Location: windows2000.tk

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

5eraph wrote:
Do you have a working download link for YumeYao_WIC_Update_Addon_1_2_0.cab?

My W2K WIC addon is based on that one. If you remove "wic.inf" and all references to it from the entries.ini you'll get the YumeYao's original addon Smile

tomasz86-YumeYao_WIC_Addon_1_2_0.7z
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ricktendo64



Joined: 21 May 2006
Posts: 3157
Location: Honduras

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is yy WIC addon http://www.mediafire.com/?178k74xdc9972ed
_________________

Please, donate any old PC hardware
Save time & space on your HDD/SSD with these installer repacks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
5eraph
Moderator


Joined: 05 Jul 2005
Posts: 3867
Location: Riverview, MI USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, both of you. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shiner



Joined: 08 Nov 2009
Posts: 638
Location: SE Asia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

5eraph,

Sorry I didn't get back sooner. I have been using a lot of my spare time working on this and another problem I have. You couldn't reproduce my issue, so I have to assume I have a screwy source or a screwy system.

Here are more results anyway:
Tested all the above addons with CMD Tools for NT5 from Win7 v2012-01_3 and user_hidden's April and May update packs.
I do get the same freeze with the May update pack, but surprisingly I don't get it with the April update pack.

I also just tested again after upgrading VBox to 4.1.18 from 4.1.16 and I get the same freeze at T-35 when I add CMD Tools for NT5 from Win7 with several other addons.

Anyway, I say if you can't reproduce my issue don't waste any more time on it. I will do what I did with RWParams and rewrite this addon for my system. Time to move on to other things.
_________________
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bphlpt



Joined: 19 Apr 2008
Posts: 1010

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So all your runs that have had the freeze are using VBox? That might be helpful info. Smile Also shiner, once you get the addon modified and working for your system, if you'll pass it back to 5eraph, maybe comparing your version with his will trigger either a suggestion from 5eraph for something that might be wrong with your system, or maybe he might see a mod he can make that won't hurt everyone else but will help you. You never know. Thanks for your willingness to go above and beyond with testing and mod on your own if necessary.

Cheers and Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shiner



Joined: 08 Nov 2009
Posts: 638
Location: SE Asia

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One good thing about working on issues like this is the collateral knowledge gained.

In searching this forum for issues with expand.exe, I happened on this thread, which immediately gave me a plan to break this addon into two addons--this one minus expand.exe and a T-13 tools addon using code65536's path precedence technique for expand.exe (as well as makecab.exe,) which I think will solve my issues as well as eliminate the setuperrlog entries.
_________________
"You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make it drink."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
5eraph
Moderator


Joined: 05 Jul 2005
Posts: 3867
Location: Riverview, MI USA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll pass along the notes written while creating these addons, shiner. Hopefully you can make use of them. Did try code65536's Debugger registry entry, but was unable to get it to work.

Started with the addon for XPx64 since I'm most familiar with the other addons available for it and their possible complications. Wink Then worked on the XPx86 version, testing with OnePiece's and user_hidden's update packs. Did not test with the common x86 addons, however; and this is where I have failed.

Have been unable to reproduce your symptoms with WIC 1.2.0--with VirtualBox v4.1.16 or v4.1.18. Still looking into other alternatives like switchless installers. But need to get reacquainted with Oleg's newest 7z.sfx modules and see if it would be possible to have a combined x64/x86 installer.

In his notes, 5eraph wrote:
x64 ADDON:
    Direct replacement of Expand.exe in %11% and %16425%:
    • Works perfectly but causes errors in SetupErr.log for Expand.exe.

    New subdirectories in %11% and %16425% and replaced with Debugger:
    • Breaks Expand.exe completely (it cannot be found by the system despite being in four locations).

    Renamed to Expand7.exe, placed in %11% and %16425%, and replaced with Debugger:
    • Works without SetupErr.log complaints. But does not show the list of files expanded, and gives the runtime error: "Can't open input file: expand."

    Delayed file replacement in %11% and %16425%:
    • The new Expand.exe files have no CAT. They're overwritten by Windows File Protection (WFP) with the originals from the source, so the replacement fails.

    Swap Expand.exe files on the source like with my IE8 addon, then do delayed file replacement at T-13 in %11% and %16425%:
    • Result: See "Direct replacement of Expand.exe in %11% and %16425%".

    Swap Expand.exe files on the source like with my IE8 addon, then do delayed file replacement at 1st Logon in %11% and %16425%: (RunOnce x2)
    • Complete succcess: Works perfectly with no complaints from SetupErr.log.
x86 ADDON:
    Swap Expand.exe files on the source like with my IE8 addon, then do delayed file replacement at 1st Logon in %11%: (RunOnce x2)
    • Complete succcess with uh's pack. OP's pack triggers the replacement too early.
x64 AND x86 ADDONS:
    Swap Expand.exe files on the source like with my IE8 addon, then do delayed file replacement at 1st Logon in %11% and %16425%: (RunOnceEx x1 + RunOnce x1)
    • Complete succcess with all packs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    RyanVM.net Discussion Board Forum Index -> Update Pack Addons All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group